Love My Writing Life: 2012 RWA National Convention Snapshots

Robyn Carr & Cyndi Faria

“Success Is Measured In Moments of Satisfaction.” –Robyn Carr

This year’s RWA Convention held in Anaheim, CA near Disneyland was, in one word, AWESOME!

I met with some of my favorite author’s like Yasmine Galenorn, Nora Roberts (J.D. Robb), Robyn Carr, Lori Wilde, Cherry Adair, Virna DePaul, Karin Tabke (Harlow), Tawny Weber, Kristin Miller, Cindy Sample, Donnell Ann Bell, and more during the “Readers for Life” Literacy Autographing that raised $52,933 for ProLiteracy Worldwide, Read OC, and Literacy Volunteers – Huntington Valley.

Cherry Adair. LOVE HER!

Nora Roberts Signing My Book!

My Mentor Lori Wilde!

During the event, I attended several classes on Craft, Publishing, Career, Research, and Writer’s Life. I found myself renewed and inspired. Classes included:

  • Escalator to HEA: Raising Story Stakes the Easy Way (Virna DePaul)
  • It’s Showtime! Show, Don’t Tell ( Janice Hardy)
  • Plotting via Motivation (Laurie Schnebly Campbell)
  • Using Inner Conflict to Create Powerful Love Stories (Michael Hauge)
  • How to Put the Thrill in Your Thrillers (James Rollins)
  • Writing Your Best Book: Six Magic Words (Susan Elizabeth Phillips)
  • How to Make Your Openings Pop (Margie Lawson)
  • Conflict and Its Role In Storytelling (Debra Dixon)
  • Superbad: How Unleashing Your Villain Can Unlock Your Story (Tamara Hogan and Susan Sey)

BDRWA Chapter Dinner (Photo By Sam Bradley)

Spending time with my fellow Black Diamond RWA and Sacramento Valley Rose chapter mates, critique partners, mentor, and those women I’ve met in on-line support loops, blogs, and Twitter was an invaluable experience I’ll always treasure.

Critique Partners And Dear Friends, (me) Rochelle French, Virna DePaul, Susan Hatler

Vanessa Kiers, Virna DePaul, Grace Callaway, Laura McCann

 

Kristin Miller and Me

 

 
 I leave you with a quote from the recipient of the 2012 RWA Nora Roberts Lifetime Achievement Award, Brenda Jackson, who has written more than 90 novels and novellas and has more than 3 million books in print:

“Take Work Seriously. Yourself? Not So Much. Have Fun. Write Hopelessly, Fearlessly. Write What You Want To Read. Reinvent Yourself. Create A Trend!” –Brenda Jackson

See You At Next Year’s Conference In Atlanta, Georgia, July 17th through the 21st, 2013.

Me Sharing Some Damon Salvatore SWAG with Virna Depaul

Happy Writing,

Cyndi Faria

19 thoughts on “Love My Writing Life: 2012 RWA National Convention Snapshots

    • Thank you, Laura. I had such a great time hanging out with you! I wish we had more good pictures together, blur plus neon green eyes makes us look kind of paranormal. Huh, maybe I should have posted that one! I’ll bring them on Saturday. Hugs, Cyndi 😀

  1. My first RWA conference. It was so much fun. I had the best time meeting everyone that I’d met on line. Thanks for putting that dinner together, Cyndi!

    • I’m so happy to have met you, Samantha! I fixed the photo that didn’t post of us at dinner. We do look like we’re having fun! Can’t wait to see you again. Cyndi 😀

  2. Such a fun trip, Cyndi. Especially changing outfits in I-5 traffic so we can bring Damon to Virna DePaul’s booksigning in time. Next time steer clear of the tall trucks for me – lol!!!

Leave a Reply

