Wordy Wednesday-Flummoxed

WORDY WEDNESDAY

I love words! And I love to read! So each Wednesday I’m going to grab an unfamiliar or unusual word I’ve discovered in some of my favorite books.  I’ll post the meaning and the paragraph I’ve found the word to show its usage.  If so inclined, check out the book and author’s website by clicking on the links below the paragraph.  Happy Reading, Cyndi

Flummoxed means confused, perplexed or flustered.

It can be both a verb (the simple past tense and past participle of Flummox) and an adjective flummoxed.

Synonyms include bewildered, mystified, perplexed, and stumped.

“Flummoxed.” – Wiktionary. N.p., n.d. Web. 02 Oct. 2012. http://en.wiktionary.org/wiki/flummoxed.

Dangerous to Her, by Virna DePaul

 Turn around, she told herself. Walk away and don’t come back. But that type of behavior would simply call attention to herself, and make him notice her and ask questions. Forcing herself to remain calm, she moved forward. She stopped within a few feet of him, once more blasted by memories she couldn’t ignore. Flummoxed, she felt the pull toward him and desperately held out her hand as if it could shield her. “Welcome.” Her tone implied otherwise. “I’m Mattie Nolan.
 
**************************************************************************
 
 
 
6 thoughts on “Wordy Wednesday-Flummoxed

  1. I love this word. It makes me smile. For some reason it feels old fashioned to me, like I would see it in a historical novel. I can imagine Elizabeth Bennet feeling flummoxed by Mr. Darcy 🙂

Leave a Reply

