Wordy Wednesday – Copse

WORDY WEDNESDAY

I love words! And I love to read! So each Wednesday I’m going to grab an unfamiliar or unusual word I’ve discovered in some of my favorite books.  I’ll post the meaning and the paragraph I’ve found the word to show its usage.  If so inclined, check out the book and author’s website by clicking on the links below the paragraph.  Happy Reading, Cyndi

Copse:

Noun – A Thicket of Small Trees or Shrubs. (copses, plural)

Verb  –  To Trim or Cut; To Plant and Preserve

Synonyms: Coppice – A grove of small growth; a thicket of brushwood; a wood cut at certain times for fuel or other purposes, typically managed to promote growth and ensure a reliable supply of timber.

 “Copse.” – Wiktionary. N.p., n.d. Web. 16 Oct. 2012. http://en.wiktionary.org/wiki/copse.

Odd Apocalypse, by Dean Koontz

 “At the threshold, I (Odd Thomas) hesitated, for the world outside wasn’t as it ought to have been.

Ten feet of bare earth lay past the door, as before, although not the rock and not the crumpled Coke can, each of which had earlier cast a single shadow, just as I did. The weeds rose beyond the barren zone, and at some distance a familiar copse of live oaks spread black limbs.”

**************************************************************************
 Read more: Odd Apocalypse, by Dean Koontz
