Wordy Wednesday-Macabre

WELCOME TO WORDY WEDNESDAY!

I love words! And I love to read! So each Wednesday I’m going to grab an unfamiliar or unusual word I’ve discovered in some of my favorite books. I’ll post the meaning and the paragraph I’ve found the word to show its usage. If so inclined, check out the book and author’s website by clicking on the links below the paragraph. Happy Reading, Cyndi

Macabre:

Adjective:

1) Representing or personifying death;

2) Obsessed with death or the gruesome;

Synonyms: ghastly, shocking, terrifying, horrifying  

“Macabre.” – Wiktionary. N.p., n.d. Web. 5 Dec. 2012. http://en.wiktionary.org/wiki/macabre 

Blood Vow, by Karen Tabke

But they would be heard, and more. The macabre specters of hundreds of dead Corbets rose from the earth around her, begging her for life, for the chance to avenge the deaths of all Slayers.

************************************************************************

Read more: Blood Vow, by Karin Tabke (Release Day Today!)

6 thoughts on “Wordy Wednesday-Macabre

  1. I wonder if anyone with a geeky interest in such things would be able to tell us how often outside of the the horror and crime genres the word “macabre” is used? Just one of my random strange thoughts…

    • Horror, crime, and the dark genres defiantly have their own language. However, I once used it to describe the carnage a pack of coyotes left in my barn/hen house. Excellent thought! So glad you left a comment.:D

Leave a Reply

