Wordy Wednesday-Jocular

WELCOME TO WORDY WEDNESDAY!

Today’s word: Jocular (adj): joc-u-lar

1) Fond of or characterized by joking; humours or playful.

An example of usage can be found below:

The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo, by Stieg Larsson

Lisbeth Salander reflecting on Mikael Blomkvist’s book on financial journalism:  
 
“Another chapter dealt with the IPO of Telia stock–it was the book’s most jocular and ironic section, in which some financial writers were castigated by name, including one William Borg, to whom Blomkvist seemed to be particularly hostile”
 
************************************************************************

Another word from: The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo, by Stieg Larsson

I love words! And I love to read! So each Wednesday I’m going to grab an unfamiliar or unusual word I’ve discovered in some of my favorite books. I’ll post the meaning and the paragraph I’ve found the word to show its usage. If so inclined, check out the book and author’s website by clicking on the links below the paragraph. Happy Reading, Cyndi

3 thoughts on “Wordy Wednesday-Jocular

    • What is funny is that most of the jocks I knew, as I was in spirit group in high school, were absolutely jocular. It was strange to actually see them transform during a sporting event– though I suppose most serious athletes have a gladiator mentality when it is go-time. My goofy son spent his first season of lacrosse in the penalty box until he learned to control his surprising aggression. As a high school freshman he was pulled up to varsity team, but is still quite jocular.:D

Leave a Reply

