Know Your Reader: Reaching Out and Forming Friendships

To know your readers, you must reach out and form friendships.

Recently, I read a fantastic blog on How to Find Readers on Twitter and I encourage you to pop on over to Jonathan Gunson’s Best Seller Lab’s Blog if you’re interested. But that’s not the story. What I came away with after reading his blog on authors connecting with potential readers was that I wanted to find out who my current followers are?

Reader Writer

From my stats, I have close to 2,000 followers and I find myself absolutely flattered and in awe by the interaction I receive, both in the form of replies, tweets, and in personally meeting other authors who read my blog. Especially, since I’m pre-published. One thing is for sure, I’ve always found successful authors, and others, who pay-it-forward to capture my heart.

And, so, it has been my goal since starting this blog a little over a year ago, to share my ever-growing writer’s toolbox with other writers in hopes that financial manacles wouldn’t hold captive a budding author. At my expense, I travel, attend conferences, speaking events…the list continues and I won’t bore you.

Getting back to YOU and the essence of this post: TELL ME ABOUT YOU!

I want to know about you, so I’d love if you participate by answering these five easy questions. Next Monday, I’ll recap and share the information. This is my way of paying-it-forward, directing traffic to your blog, book, or special interest, and thanking you for following me, as well as considering new blog directions for this site.

Questions:

1. Are you a reader or writer or both, and what genre do you read or write?  Feel free to plug your favorite title.
2. Do you have a blog or cause or an inspiring story that you want to share? Shout it out!
3. What do you enjoy about this blog that keeps you following me?
4. What do you want to see more of?
5. What positive effect has reading had on your life?

I’ll go first:

1. Are you a reader or writer or both, and what genre do you read or write?
I’m both. Given my first book, Cinderella, I fell in love with far away fantasy romance that slowly evolved to encompass the paranormal romantic and urban fantasy genre. Although, I do love a good mixed genre: humorous, contemporary, mystery romance.

2. Do you have a blog or cause or an inspiring story that you want to share?
For as long as I can remember, I’ve kept my home and barn open to orphaned, unwanted, or injured animals that can live out their years knowing kindness, a full belly, and a clean, warm place to bed down, which includes my lap. I’ve worked with Feral Cat Rescue, Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (SPCA), Sacramento Animal Control, Project Ride (Connecting special needs children with horses).

3. What do you enjoy about this blog that keeps you following me?
I enjoy bringing materials forefront that benefit other authors or inspire others to see the positive and purpose in everything.

4. What do you want to see more of?
This year, I look forward to blogging more about what inspires my creativity—the California Coast—in hopes that you too will venture out and explore your backyard.

5.What positive effect has reading had on your life?
Reading has opened my mind to learning about things that I wouldn’t have allowed myself to explore and learn without judgment.

That wasn’t too hard. Please don’t be shy. I really do want to know about you. Share and I’ll be sure to spotlight how important you are to me next week!

For further information on how to connect to readers check out Nick Thacker’s Blog and guest post from Matthew Turner How Well Do You Know Your Reader.

Happy Reading and Writing,

Cyndi Faria

8 thoughts on “Know Your Reader: Reaching Out and Forming Friendships

  1. 1. Are you a reader or writer or both, and what genre do you read or write? Feel free to plug your favorite title.
    I was a reader way before I was a writer. I will read everything from biographies to the back of the cereal box. My favorite is romance; sappy, over the top, happily ever after romance.

    2. Do you have a blog or cause or an inspiring story that you want to share? Shout it out! I have a group blog with several other Indie authors. Authors of Main Street. We write cool to warm contemporary romance. authorsofmainstreet.wordpress.com

    3. What do you enjoy about this blog that keeps you following me?
    The learning. I always come away from this blog feeling I’ve added something to my knowledge pool, but it is presented in a way to make it so simple to understand.

    4. What do you want to see more of?
    Just keep up the good work.

    5. What positive effect has reading had on your life?
    I was a loner as a child and a young adult. Books were my friends, my companions, and my window on the world; past, present, and future.

  2. Hi Cyndi, great questions. Here’s my llife:
    1. I am both a reader and a writer. My favorite genre is historical. I have recently been expanding my reading experiences since my new critique partner/friend writes paranormal humor I’ve become acquainted with vampires and werewolves. If I walked into a book store, though, I’d head toward the historical section first. My favorite title is Night Angel, which is my first story published and is part of the Paradise Pines Series.
    2. I make quilts and give them away in my daughter Kellie’s memory. So far I’ve given 40 quilts away. They range from baby quilts made from brightly colored prints and solids made out of flannel to memory quilts with photos printed onto the fabrics.
    3. Your enthusiasm and friendly nature is what makes coming back to your blog fun.
    4. I think getting to know your readers and finding out which parts of our stories are interesting to them would be fun to find out. Sometimes we get into our own world and forget it might be different out there if we didn’t have those voices in our head to play with on paper.
    5. I was a quiet child, I know that doesn’t seem possible, and spent a lot of time reading. It got me interested in the world and when the opportunity to join an International Penpal organization opened up to me, I jumped at the chance. At one time I had 41 foreign penpals and today I still have about 15 of them left. Reading can show you so many things and intrigue your imagination to grow.

  3. 1. Are you a reader or writer or both, and what genre do you read or write? Feel free to plug your favorite title.
    I am both! I’ve always been a reader, but I never really had the courage to try and write until about three years ago. I LOVE writing, too! It’s been quite the learning experience. My favorite genre is romance 🙂 but I read things all across the board.

    2. Do you have a blog or cause or an inspiring story that you want to share? Shout it out!
    I started a blog this past year. This is where I post thoughts about the writing industry, my writing journey, and anything else that comes to mind: http://www.tarasheets.com

    3. What do you enjoy about this blog that keeps you following me?
    I follow your blog becuase I always learn valuable writing lessons. You have such a wonderful way of imparting information and I always feel inspired!

    4. What do you want to see more of?
    It’s all good– keep up the great work!

    5. What positive effect has reading had on your life?
    When I was growing up, my family was always on the move. We traveled all over the world because of my father’s business. Sometimes we lived in foreign countries and it was easy to feel disconnected. Books have always been a constant companion for me, and I can’t imagine a life without them.

  4. Okay, here goes:

    1. Are you a reader or writer or both, and what genre do you read or write?

    I am a reader and a writer. I write contemporary women’s fiction and romance. I have 2 published short stores; 1 romance, the other not.

    2. Do you have a blog or cause or an inspiring story that you want to share?

    I do have a blog: http://www.jansenschmidt.wordpress.com I like to blog about myself mostly but not so much as a writer.

    3. What do you enjoy about this blog that keeps you following me?

    I enjoy seeing your smiling face up top every time I come here. I’d like to learn more about you personally. I particularly liked your blog post about your vacation time along the coast.

    4. What do you want to see more of?

    Ooops. See above.

    5. What positive effect has reading had on your life?

    I remember my mom reading to me from a very early age and how almost every night she and I would read together up until I was about 12 years old. It wasn’t so much about me reading, but about the special time I got to spend with my mom and no one else. I still cherish those memories, especially now since my mom isn’t with us any more. I have very fond memories of learning to read and reading with my mom.

    Great stuff, Cindy.

    Patricia Rickrode
    w/a Jansen Schmidt

Leave a Reply

