Wordy Wednesday-Gallimaufry

WELCOME TO WORDY WEDNESDAY!

Today’s word: Gallimaufry (noun): gal-li-mau-fry 

1) Any absurd medley;

2) A hash of various kinds of meat, a ragout.

 

Synonyms: hodgepodge, hotchpotch, potpourri.

 

The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo, by Stieg Larsson

“…The family history that emerged was a dramatically different version from the one presented as the official image of the family. Every family had a few skeletons in their cupboards, but the Vanger family had an entire gallimaufry of them.”
 
************************************************************************

Another word from: The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo, by Stieg Larsson

Definition provided by: Wiktionary. N.p., n.d. Web. 30 Jan. 2013.

I love words! And I love to read! So each Wednesday I’m going to grab an unfamiliar or unusual word I’ve discovered in some of my favorite books. I’ll post the meaning and the paragraph I’ve found the word to show its usage. If so inclined, check out the book and author’s website by clicking on the links below the paragraph. Happy Reading, Cyndi

5 thoughts on “Wordy Wednesday-Gallimaufry

  1. What a great word! And a great movie, by the way (both versions). I’m with Patricia on the book. Even with the ability to look up the definition of words on the Kindle, I probably wouldn’t have made it very far.

    • Suzanne, welcome! Isn’t it great there are so many book choices? Comedy, romance, and murder mystery like the referenced book. I haven’t seen the UK movie version, but now I’m curious. Check back next Wednesday for a new word, new book!

Leave a Reply

