Dare To Ask Your Readers

Have you ever asked your readers why they follow your blog? Last week, I asked my followers to answer several questions found Here. Basically, I wanted to know why they follow this blog. I asked what they liked and what they wanted to see more of.

I wasn’t surprised to learn that most of my readers are also writers, since the majority of my posts discuss the craft of writing. But for future posts, I want to grow my readership. I want to connect to readers at a deeper level.

The survey offered the following results.

Top 4 Reasons To Read:

1. Companionship
2. Connecting with others
3. Intrigue that inspires you to interact
4. Window to the world

Top 4 Reasons To Follow This Blog:

1. Writing craft presented in a simplified manner
2. Enthusiasm about the topic of writing is guaranteed
3. Friendly nature of the presenter
4. Inspirational topics

But readers also want more, plus the same. My goal is to combine the above enthusiasm and intrigue so I can develop an affinity with my readers. Here’s what I plan to do:

Top 4 Future Post Promises:

1. Short stories from myself or others’ links.
2. Backyard adventures similar to Research: Acquiring More Than Facts.
3. Sea Power News (A fictional newsletter inspired by my upcoming series).
4. What I’m reading now.

As a blogger or writer, have you asked your readers what they want to read? What if you dared?

Shout Out to Poll Participants (And a $5 Amazon Gift Card!)
A big thank you goes out to the following who contributed to this post (send me your email address and I’ll forward you a gift card to spend as you’d like. More books!):

Author Jill James blogs on topics that affect all writers. On her site, you’ll also find her books and information on her upcoming releases. Find her at www.jilljames.wordpress.com . Her group blog specializes in topics relevant to indie authors www.authorsofmainstreet.wordpress.com

Author Paisley Kirkpatrick’s favorite book is her very own Night Angel, book 1 in her Paradise Pines Series. Find her at www.paisleykirkpatrick.com/books.html

Author Tara Sheets blogs about her writing life, travels, and other inspirational topics. Find her at www.tarasheets.com

Author Jansen Schmidt has a humorous blog about everything and anything. Find her at www.jansenschmidt.wordpress.com

10 thoughts on “Dare To Ask Your Readers

  1. There are many excellent blogs on writing out there, but one of the reasons I follow yours, is that you provide entertaining and thought provoking insight into those skills. My own Hot Flash blog is for pure entertainment. I don’t post very often, but when I do, you might want to put that cup of hot coffee down before you begin reading:-)

Leave a Reply

