Wordy Wednesday-Misogyny

Today’s word: Misogyny (noun): my-sog-y-ny

1) A hatred of women

http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/misogynists

I love how this word is used by J.R. Ward in Lover Reborn:

Set up: Xhex is angry with her mate, John. She’s addressing him in front of the brotherhood after she’s been injured and has her sights on returning to the field. Now that they’re mated, John doesn’t want her fighting.

When he went to follow her, she pegged him with a hard eye. “If you’re coming after me for any other reason than to let me go after Xcor, you need to stop right where you are. Because you belong with this anachronistic group of misogynists. Not at my side.”

Lifting his hands, he signed, It is not wrong to want to keep you safe.

“This is not about safety–it’s about control.”

I love words! And I love to read! So each Wednesday I’m going to grab an unfamiliar or unusual word I’ve discovered and post the meaning. Definitions and further explanations can be found at Merriam-Webster.com/dictionary/

Happy Reading, Cyndi

3 thoughts on “Wordy Wednesday-Misogyny

Leave a Reply

