Wordy Wednesday-Dexterous

Today’s word: Dexterous (adjective): Dek-ster-uss) Skillful

The word Dexterous originates from the Latin word for “right”–as the majority of people are right-handed and hold skill in their right hand.

I picked today’s word not for its unfamiliarity–as we are all most familiar with this word–but  because I wondered if the author of Darkly Dreaming Dexter, Jeff Lindsay, picked the name  “Dexter” purposefully to show that killing serial killers is right. It’s a play of words and the meaning of right is exchanged to mean “Justified.”

However being that the definition of Dexterous is skillful, it’s no wonder the blood splatter analyst–by adhering to The Code to keep him from getting caught by gathering undeniable proof of his victim’s guilt–excels at both jobs as Dexter is a self-justified and skillful killer of serial killers.

Dexter begins its 8th Showtime season in June 2013.

http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/dexterous

I love words! And I love to read! So each Wednesday I’m going to grab an unfamiliar or unusual word I’ve discovered and post the meaning. Definitions and further explanations can be found at Merriam-Webster.com/dictionary/

Happy Reading, Cyndi

7 thoughts on “Wordy Wednesday-Dexterous

  1. Interesting thoughts, Cyndi. It is interesting to trace names and words back to their root. My sister is actually due in May and Dexter is the name at the top of her list, which is a worry… 🙂

    • Ryan, I didn’t mean to suggest that all Dexters will become skilled murderers, but I did cringe when I read your post… I immediately thought of the TV character Less Nessman and how he became his name: less and insignificant. Interesting thoughts indeed. So glad you stopped by. 😀

  2. I’m ambidextrous. I used my left hand a lot as a kid until my mom (like most moms at the time) forced me to be right-handed. I love when authors use names that mean more than just names.

    • Cool, Jill. In kindergarten, my oldest son still hadn’t decided which hand to use, left or right. They taught him to use his right but, like you, he’s really a lefty. I too love to attach meaning to my character names.:D

  3. Like Jill, I too am ambidextrous. No one in my family is left-handed, but my natural instrinct, especially when I’m trying to do something I’ve never done before, is to use my left hand. Weird. Some things I’m actually better at left-handed.

    I think that means I’m a little on the crazy side, but I’ll take that.

    Another fun word.

    Patricia Rickrod
    w/a Jansen Schmidt

  4. Another great word! Have you thought about setting yourself a challenge to write a story at the end of each year to include all of that year’s words? Might be fun!

Leave a Reply

