The Power of Swag

St Patricks Day

When I think of St. Patrick’s Day—the holiday that originally celebrated the arrival of Christianity in Ireland (learn more here)—I think Swag. Yep. Beads and crazy ties, green felt hats, shirts, Kiss Me pins, green Guinness beer, and the likes.

In tradition of the St Patrick’s Day celebration, I dropped off my spouse in Sacramento for the annual midtown festivities. For three hours or so, he bar hopped with his buddies, visiting his favorite establishments like The Streets of London, Shady Lady, and R15. These popular bars offer Guinness beer, along with the traditional feast of corned beef, cabbage, potatoes, and carrots. When I picked him up a few hours later, his neck adorned beads and the Kiss Me I’m Irish logo was pinned to his collar.

Neither of us is Irish, but for a few hours he celebrated in Irish spirit.

Unity is the message you’ll want your swag to convey to your readers. When they see your item, you’ll want them to connect to a universal message your book or brand inspires.

For my short story, A Promise Worth Keeping, I could attach an organdy drawstring pouch filled with scented red rose petals to the story’s postcard (cover, blurb, where to buy, and a suggestion of how to use the swag item). Placed in an undergarment drawer, the rose scent would infuse the drawer, reminding the owner of the story message: Love is everlasting.

Of all the swag items you’ve seen and beheld, what is your favorite and why? What drew you to that item and why is it memorable?

In honor of St. Patrick’s Day, one commenter will win a $5 Amazon gift card.

4 thoughts on “The Power of Swag

  1. I like mine – sounds conceited, doesn’t it?! I made them and everyone oos and aws. Since my stories are set in the gold rush era, I’ve made cloth bags out of fabric that looks like bark with a golden yarn tie. Inside I have a handful of candy that look like gold (sunflower seeds coated with chocolate and covered in gold coating like M&Ms are. I have put a slip of paper inside telling the price of gold in 1849 and current, and my business card. I made a few hundred to give away at book signings or author talks. 🙂

  2. I love pens. Though I don’t always pay attention to the names on them, I often “lend” them to folks who might, sooooo. I love the sachet idea, too. I save everything but paper bookmarks and large cards. Tea bags are good, too, but once use them, again…..
    Flower seeds are good.
    Interesting topic!

Leave a Reply

