Wordy Wednesday-Taphephobia

Today’s word: Taphephobia (Noun): (taff-uh-FOE-bee-uh)

Definition(s) include:

1). The abnormal fear of being buried alive.

Now I don’t see the fear of being buried alive as abnormal. I’m sure Nick Stokes from the TV show CSI’s fifth season finale, titled Grave Danger would agree. 

http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/taphephobia 

I love words! And I love to read! So each Wednesday I’m going to grab an unfamiliar or unusual word I’ve discovered and post the meaning. Definitions and further explanations can be found at Merriam-Webster.com/dictionary/

Happy Reading, Cyndi

4 thoughts on “Wordy Wednesday-Taphephobia

  1. I would assume that the irrational fear is that such a thing will happen to you. It is so rare that it is close to 0%, then to have a fear it will happen then becomes irrational, no?

    Even in the 19th century when so many worried about such a thing it wasn’t that common and now we have so many tests to make sure somebody is dead. And even if you were not dead at the time you were pronounced dead, the autopsy would surely kill you? So isn’t being buried alive almost impossible and therefore, irrational to fear it? That’s my reading of it. Feel free to correct me.

Leave a Reply

