Help Name That Villain

19243739_s[1] VillainI’m in the process of plotting my third novella in the Promises Collection titled A Promise Worth Sharing. This is a light paranormal contemporary romance. I have my protagonists named, but the villain… Right now I’m calling him Banker Brian. It’s horrible. I want Cruella Deville (cruel devil).

About the Villain:

He’s 32, charismatic, wealthy, and his family have been bankers since the town’s established date in 1849. Where his father was benevolent and forgiving to the point that he almost cost the family their banking business, Brian plans on making money and reestablishing his family’s power in the town. He’s black and white when it comes to making mortgage payments. Pay up or you’re out. Because of the economy, many can’t refinance and have lost their property to the bank. Many mom and pop business have closed. The town needs a developer (In comes heroine). But Brian is cutting corners to save money. And the building codes within the small strip mall he’s sold to the heroine are subpar. His coverup will ultimately be his demise.

Your turn:

I need a name for my villain. And I love names with dual meanings. Don’t be shy. Have an idea, please post. One lucky person will see their villian’s name in my next novella.  😀

22 thoughts on “Help Name That Villain

  1. You know, there was a time when most villains were named after villains from fables, or from the Bible but spelt differently. I like names to have a sort of reflection on their character so a villian’s name ought to be harsh. I don’t have suggestions because I’m usually quite bad at coming up with them myself!

  2. I always struggle coming up with the perfect names for some of the characters my books. In my last one the bad guy was “Mr. X” for the longest time, and in my current draft the heroine’s boyfriend was originally just the word “Crush.” 🙂

    Then I discovered the little hidden gem in Scrivener known as the Name Generator. OMG, I love this thing! I could play with this for hours.

    So here are a few name I picked from Scrivener’s list that I think might be good for a banker bad guy:

    Thomas Spires
    Benjamin Harton
    Luke Whitlock
    Nathan Cashmore (might be a little too tongue and cheek LOL!)
    Edward Talbot

    Good luck choosing!

  3. A long time ago I read somewhere that villains and heroes are linked to certain letters of the alphabet. J.K. Rowling knew exactly what she was doing naming Severius Snape. The letter S is almost always associated with a snake for its shape. Heroes are usually very straight letters; T, L, A, E (like Edward in Twilight). It is a sort of sublimial conditioning to see certain names as good guys and bad guys. Sometimes the letter J is used for the hero because it hints at a straight guy (truthful, faithful, dependable) with that little hook at the end to imply a little extra something (dangerous, exciting, adventurous) But usually, J is reserved for the guy next door who wants more but will always just be the friend.

  4. The villain in my life right now is named Andrew…his middle name is Vincent. So I vote for Andrew Vincent. The last name is too unique and I don’t want this to bite me in the derriere later.

    • Pepper, so sorry for your real life villain. You are the second person who has recommended Vincent. Unfortunately, Vincent is the hero of one of my favorite shows Beauty and the Beast. Thank you! 🙂

  5. High up on my mother’s tree are D’Ville’s and Deville’s. Deville is the French spelling of the same name and means “of the village.” However, it comes from the Latin “dei (God) villa” or “settlement of God.” Old English deofol was “devil.” So my suggestion is Deofol.

    Or, the villain in “It’s a Wonderful life,” Henry F Potter, Call him “Hank” so it won’t be so obvious. Of course you’ll risk him being confused with Harry Potter.

  6. I’m German on my father’s side, so checked out a few adjectives that described your villain, but in German. My favorite was Gierig, meaning “greedy.” First name Holden? 🙂

  7. Uhm, about Seth? That is the Anglicized form of Hebrew Shet (means garment or appointed) who was Adam and Eve’s third son and his descendant was Noah; so we are all descended from Seth. After Abel’s death, Adam named his third son Shet and said, “God has provided (appointed) me another child in place of Abel.”—Genesis 4:25. I don’t know about Sethos being a Greek god but he was an Egyptian pharaoh. BTW, “Cain” is the Anglicized version of the Hebrew “Kayin” and means “acquire” or “possess.” So, if your villain is acquiring things, naming him “Kayin” would be appropriate.

    • Seth wasn’t a Pharaoh, Seth was the Egyptian god of chaos. Pharaohs were always named in honour of a deity. In this case it is Seti (meaning “of Seth”). There were two Seti Pharaohs, the first was the father of Ramses II.

      • Aparently, there are several descriptions of who Seth is. When I hear his name, originating from my World Mythology college class, I immediately think the Egyptian god of the desert, and later hostility as he represented the power struggle between upper and lower Egypt with Horus. He is depicted as a man with the head of an animal with two horns and a tail, Red hair, the color of the desert and of destruction. For this thread, that description sounds villainous enough to name a villain Seth, but not mine. Read more at http://www.aldokkan.com/religion/seth.htm

Leave a Reply

